Christopher Howse

Standard

I sent an email to Christopher Howse of the Telegraph today, regarding the below opinion piece published today:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/labour/8791990/Teenage-talent-at-the-Labour-Party-conference-seen-as-fairground-freakery.html

The full text of the email is below:

 

From: majidsalim@live.co.uk
To: christopher.howse@telegraph.co.uk
Subject: Re: Teenage talent
Date: Thu, 29 Sep 2011 10:04:57 +0100

Hi Christopher,
 
I really enjoyed your article about Rory Weal at the Labour Party conference.
 
I think the British have a strange realtionship with intelligence at an early age. We are all told stories about Mozart writing music aged six, but if we see young people doing intelligent things there is sometimes a popular reaction in tabloid against this sort of thing. This may well be because people see the 12 year old at Oxford or the 16 year old at a party conference and thing they are mimicking an adult, without realising that this might be natural behaviour coming easily to them that reflects these young people’s real interests and abilities.
 
I do feel sorry for young people who are thrown in front of the feral media at an early age without and insulation against its animal rabidity. I have an IQ of 154, have published an academic paper and have a postgraduate degree, and that kind of academic excellence was inculcated into me at an early age. However, in spite of clever thoughts I was reguilarly having at school and in other arenas, I do feel that my headmasters never quite forgot that I was not to be entirely eaten alive by the school’s desire for headlines, or by inclusion in any larger media machine. The touchpaper of my real conceptualisation of the media was only lit at a later stage in my life.
 
I regularly email the media and know that thousands of people have read my emails. The media rarely if ever contact me back, but nonethless – I know. To be honest the media’s silence in response to my original and intelligent emails does start to look suspicious, as if I were just another prole I would not be faced with such a monolithic muteness, but rather would have a pappering of disinterested emails back.
 
It is a strange sort of fame when sometimes you have the private imagining that an astronaut who you have just read about in the Telegraph has already heard of you, but cannot justify the cost of stating so in any kind of public way because they have not been furnished by the media with the necessary apparatus to do so. For all I know I may be a world icon of some description, but only in the privacy of people’s minds. Whilst that is a nice thought, I cannot help but think about the money I could make were I not such an retrenchantly uncontactable individual.
 
Good bye, good luck, and best wishes,
 
Majid Salim

 

Leave a Reply

